Glenbard Wastewater Authority Background

Public Notices and Review Documents

Public Notices and Review Documents

(Public Notices and Review documents will be posted here when available and necessary)


Notice of Restricted Access
(Posted March 17, 2020)

Notice of Restricted Access

Due to the evolving situation with the Covid-19 virus, The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) will be restricting access to its facilities to essential personnel/deliveries only, in an attempt to limit our exposure, reduce/prevent spread of the virus, and continue public service.

We may be reached at 630-790-1901.

Thank you for your understanding during this difficult time.


Notice of Advertisement of Bid
(Posted January 30, 2020)

Public Notification of Advertisement of Bid

Section 00 11 13

ADVERTISEMENT TO BID

2020 ELECTRICAL SERVICE DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM
REHABILITATION AND UPGRADES
CONTRACT 1-2020
GLENBARD WASTEWATER AUTHORITY
GLEN ELLYN, ILLINOIS

Sealed Bids for the construction of the 2020 Electrical Service Distribution System Rehabilitation and Upgrades project will be received by Glenbard Wastewater Authority at 945 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 until 1 P.M., local time, on February 28, 2020, at which time the Bids will be publicly opened and read aloud.

The Work generally includes demolition of the existing electrical service distribution system equipment and ductbanks and replacing them with new equipment. The project includes the demolition of existing site lighting and the installation of new site lighting. The project includes modifications to existing building electrical service entrance equipment to incorporate “loss of phase” protection for the 208 V and 460 V motors at the facility. The project includes three bid alternatives for the possible addition of a cable raceway system at the UNOX Aeration Tank and Penthouse (Building F). The Work includes electrical, civil, and structural disciplines.

Complete digital Project Bidding Documents are available at www.strand.com or at www.questcdn.com. Download the digital Bidding Documents for $30 by inputting Quest project number 6687631 on the website’s Project Search page. Please contact QuestCDN.com at (952) 233-1632 or info@questcdn.com for assistance with free membership registration, downloading, and working with this digital project information.

For this project, bids will ONLY be received and accepted via the online electronic bid service through QuestCDN.com. To access the electronic bid form, download the project documents and click the online bidding button at the top of the advertisement.

Bidding Documents may be reviewed from the Issuing Office which is Strand Associates, Inc.®, 1170 Houbolt Road, Joliet, Illinois 60431.

All Bidders submitting a sealed Bid shall obtain the Bidding Documents from QuestCDN.com.

Bidders who submit a Bid must be a Plan Holder of record at the Issuing Office. Bids from Bidders who are not on the Plan Holders List may be returned as not being responsive.

Plan Holders are requested to provide an e-mail address if they wish to receive addenda and other information electronically. Plan Holders are requested to designate whether they are a prime contractor, subcontractor, or supplier if they want this information posted on the project Plan Holders List.

The Bid must be accompanied by Bid security made payable to OWNER in an amount of 10% of the Bidder’s maximum Bid price.

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority reserves the right to reject any or all Bids, to waive any technicality, and to accept any Bid which it deems advantageous. All Bids shall remain subject to acceptance for 85 days after the time set for receiving Bids.

Contract award shall be made based on the lowest responsive and responsible Bidder.

A prebid conference will be held at 11 A.M., local time, on February 11, 2020, at 945 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137. Bidders are encouraged to attend and participate in the conference.

The Strand Associates, Inc.® project manager is Andrew Runde, P.E. who can be contacted at Strand Associates, Inc.®, 1170 Houbolt Road, Joliet, IL 60431, (815) 744-4200 regarding the project.

Published by the authority of the
Glenbard Wastewater Authority
Executive Oversight Committee

Dated at Glen Ellyn, Illinois
February 3, 2020


Notice of Potential Odors
(Posted January 28, 2020)

Public Notification of Potential Odors due to Final Clarifier Draining

Dear Neighbors:

Starting the afternoon of Tuesday, January 28th, the Glenbard Wastewater Authority will begin draining one of our final clarifier tanks that is used for high flow events, overnight. As are result, during the day on Wednesday, January 29th, there is the potential for some odors as we hose it down during the day in an effort to avoid any odors over the weekend. This is a normal part of our Plant Operations and we hope that if any odors are detected, they will be short-lived.

Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Operations Superintendent, David Goodalis at dgoodalis@gbww.org.


Notice of Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge
(Posted January 13, 2020)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed this web page entry to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF, IL Permit Number 0022471, discharged at ~ 12:30 AM, on January 11, 2020, for a period of ~ 31.5 hours, with a total discharge of 17.494 million gallons, due to a rain event of ~ 1.29″, which began on January 10, 2020 at ~ 7:40 PM, with a duration of ~ 8 hours.

Days are classified as 12:00p.m to 12:00p.m for permit reporting of the CSTF. If at any time you have questions regarding the discharge of the CSTF to the East Branch of the DuPage River or how the Authority treats the water, please do not hesitate to contact Authority staff at (630) 790-1901. Click here to view the Authority’s storm water plant.


Notice of Proposed Amendments to HSW/FOG Standard Operating Procedures
(Posted January 13, 2020)

Public Notification of Proposed Amendments to HSW/FOG Standard Operating Procedures

Dear Neighbors and Community Members:

In February 2019, the Glenbard Wastewater Authority amended several components of the high strength waste/fats oils and grease (HSW/FOG) receiving standard operating procedure calculations. This amendment increased the daily limit of HSW/FOG the Authority was able to receive as well as the rate the HSW/FOG is conveyed to the digester. After another year of successful performance at the increased quantity, GWA is seeking to amend the standard operating procedures to increase the daily intake quantity and adjust the feed rate accordingly. As part of making amendments to the standard operating procedures, any changes that are made require a 45-day public posting period, in which we welcome any feedback or questions you may have. Please return any comment you have to the Authority by Friday, February 28, 2020. Comments may be directly submitted to the Authority’s Executive Director, Matt Streicher, via email to mstreicher@gbww.org, or he can be reached by phone at 630-790-1901.00

Please click here to review the documents related to the proposed amendment.

As always, please feel free to contact us for any reason, and thank you for your continued support.


Notice of new Odor Correspondence Submissions
(Posted July 17, 2019)

Public Notification of new Odor Correspondence Submissions

Fillable Form: “Resident Correspondence Log” can be accessed at: https://www.gbww.org/residents/odor-noise-other-complaints/
Submit to: WebCorrespondence@gbww.org

Dear Neighbors,

As we enter the warmer summer months, Glenbard Wastewater Authority would like to proactively reach out to our neighbors to inform you about matters that occur at our facility located on Bemis Road. Hopefully, some of you were able to join us at our Open House on June 1 and saw the size and complexity of what we do to treat the wastewater for the Villages of Lombard and Glen Ellyn and surrounding unincorporated areas. Our facility treats raw sewage for approximately 80,000 residents and is one of the larger wastewater treatment facilities in the Chicago suburbs.

Although the majority of our incoming flow is sewage from residential, commercial, and some industrial sources, precipitation patterns also affect the volume of flow coming to our plant. Sanitary sewers typically are intended to convey only sewage; however, due to minor defects in the systems, illegal connections (e.g., basement sump pumps, storm sewer crossovers, etc.), and other factors, stormwater often makes its way into sanitary sewers. Therefore, when it rains, we often see our flows increase considerably. In addition, approximately one third of the Village of Lombard has “combined sewers,” which means that sewers act as both sanitary and storm sewers, and stormwater runoff from these areas also comes to our plant for treatment.

As you can imagine, the wastewater that we receive, as well as the process that treats it, is odorous in nature. Although the odors are not harmful to humans, they can be annoying, embarrassing, and uncomfortable. In later summer months, several factors affect the condition of the flow entering the treatment plant and, subsequentially, the odors that are produced:
• Historical patterns indicate less frequent rainfall in later summer months, which results in consistently lower flows being conveyed to our treatment facilities. Because less rainwater is being mixed with raw sewage, the sewage is more concentrated and therefore more odorous.
• The lower volume of flow traveling through the sewer system creates lower velocities as the flow travels to the treatment plant. The resulting increase in the summer’s “Time of Concentration,” or sewage travel time, gives sewage more time to break down on its way to the treatment plant, therefore causing stronger odors once it begins the treatment process on site.
• The warmer the water temperature, the more biologically active the sewage can be, which contributes to a quicker breakdown of the raw sewage in transit and during the plant’s treatment process. Since much of our service area is on Lake Michigan water, and because much of our incoming flow is water that goes down drains, the temperature of the water coming to the plant is driven largely by the temperature of the water being drawn from Lake Michigan. Because of this, although air temperatures can start to cool in September and October, the water coming to the plant can still be warmer in temperature, which can contribute to more intense odors.

We are even more at the mercy of weather conditions when it comes to wind direction and speed. Although our plant always generates odors, prevailing winds typically travel west to east, sending odors toward the only border of the treatment facility without immediately adjacent neighbors. Therefore, when winds shift out of the east, north, or south, downwind neighbors may notice the odors more significantly, even though the plant and treatment process has not changed or failed.

In an effort to be a good neighbor and mitigate odors to the best of our ability, the Authority undertakes a number of measures to proactively reduce odors, including:
• Starting in spring, near areas of the plant with a greater potential for odor, an odor-neutralizing mist is dispersed in the air. This is dispersed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week until early winter, when there becomes a potential for the mist to freeze.
• During later summer months, when warmer water temperatures and lower flows are a greater potential, the Operations Department enacts standard operating procedures and proactive measures (additional measures can be found at our website: www.gbww.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/LOW-FLOW-ODOR-SOP.pdf):
 Increasing the potency of the odor neutralizer;
 Adding “freshening water” to the gravity thickener;
 Shutting off exhaust fans during evening hours;
 Ensuring that diamond plating is in place to cover areas of sewage exposed to air; and
 Performing plant rounds to ensure there are no additional sources of odor.

In addition, the Authority hired a third-party consultant to perform a more in-depth study to help identify measures that could further mitigate odors. Many of the results from this study require larger capital projects, which the Authority’s Executive Oversight Committee is evaluating. The results of this study can be found in Section 6 of the Authority’s Facility Planning document (see www.gbww.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/2018-Facility-Plan.pdf).

While we never would dismiss any of our neighbors’ notifications, odors are generally in the nature of a wastewater treatment facility and can be amplified by the discussed weather conditions even though the plant is functioning properly. For more than five years running, the Authority has not exceeded any limitations mandated by its National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit issued by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA). Emitting odors does not count as a violation of this permit, since it is nearly impossible to eliminate all odors coming from a facility of our size and nature. The odors simply are related to the treatment of wastewater, to weather, and to flow conditions.

Prior to receiving any communications from neighbors, it is likely that Authority staff already are aware of odorous conditions and have begun taking proactive odor-reducing measures. However, in an effort to receive constructive communications from neighbors, the Authority encourages you to complete the online submission form “Resident Correspondence Log” found at https://www.gbww.org/residents/odor-noise-other-complaints/ and to submit it as an e-mail attachment to WebCorrespondence@gbww.org .

As previously stated, since we are not always able to control odors, no immediate response will be given when completing the online form. The form will be used as a resource to collect information and to return information to you if requested. If you would like an immediate response to any issue, please call our main number at 630-790-1901. If it is after hours, the recording will indicate how to reach the on-call operator.


Contact Information

Glenbard Wastewater Authority
945 Bemis Rd
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137
Map It                Weather

Phone: (630) 790.1901
Fax: (630) 858.8119

Office Hours

Monday – Friday
7:30a.m. – 4:00p.m

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for our mailing list to get our latest news & events!