Glenbard Wastewater Authority Background

Public Notices and Review Documents

Public Notices and Review Documents

(Public Notices and Review documents will be posted here when available and necessary)


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Posted November 16, 2017)

November 16, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

Wastewater treatment operations at the Authority have been routine and back to normal for nearly two months. For that reason, these weekly updates will be put on a hiatus after this week, and will only be sent out if the need arises, or for any special announcements.

The applications for the GWA CHP Ad-Hoc Committee were due by November 1st, however due to a lack of an adequate number of applications received, we are re-opening the application period for the time being. Below this update you can find links to information about the Committee, as well as the application. Since it is a possibility that we may not retain enough applicants to form a proper committee, at our regularly scheduled Executive Oversight Committee meeting on November 9, 2017, alternatives were discussed. While the application period remains open, the Authority and a consultant will be collaborating to put together draft standard operating procedures in relation receiving high strength wastes at the Authority. The Authority also plans on collaborating with other Wastewater Treatment Plants in the region that receive these wastes and learn from their successful programs. If a committee is able to be formed, the Authority will share the draft procedures with the committee for review and comment. If no committee is able to be formed, the Authority will share the draft procedures with any other interested parties (School District, County Board, interested neighbors, etc.), as well as post it to the web site, and so that all are able to review it. Ultimately, our Executive Oversight Committee will be reviewing and approving the final version of the standard operating procedures after all input is received.

Although these weekly updates are being suspended, more information can always be obtained from the Authority at any time by monitoring our web site, www.gbww.org, giving us a call or stopping by during regular business hours. The Authority is generally open to public tours as well, with advanced scheduling.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org.

EOC Memorandum “Creation of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee”

Glenbard Wastewater Authority Ad-Hoc CHP Committee Application


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Posted November 2, 2017)

November 2, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

Wastewater treatment operations at the Authority have been routine as of late. After the wet weather events in October, the influent flows are starting to return to the daily average amounts we are used to seeing.

This past week, the Authority was given approval to purchase a new permanent deodorizing system around our grit facilities. The order has been put in with the manufacturer and is expected to arrive within several weeks.

The applications for the GWA CHP Ad-Hoc Committee were due by November 1st. Below this update you can find the link to information about the Committee. All applications will be brought forward to our Executive Oversight Committee at our regularly scheduled meeting on November 9, 2017. Please feel free to contact the Authority’s main office with any questions.

Please continue to check this web page on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating operations through the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday mornings, with some being as early as Wednesday mornings, depending on the week. As we return to normal operation, the updates will continue to be shorter.

At this time, it’s predicted that the weekly updates will cease towards the end of November due to lack of relevant information to report on, as operations have returned to normal. However, more information can always be obtained from the Authority at any time by giving us a call or stopping by. The Authority is generally open to public tours as well, with advanced scheduling.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org.

EOC Memorandum “Creation of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee”


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Updated November 2, 2017)

October 25, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

Wastewater treatment operations at the Authority have been routine as of late. With the participation amounts catching back up to normal in a short duration, incoming flows have been higher than usual, but more than sustainable.

Staff is nearly finished installing diamond plating in order to cover sources of odor where it has been determined it is feasibly possible to do so. The few remaining areas that are to be completed are lower priority areas and harder to access during high flows; therefore, staff is waiting until flows subside before working in these areas. This week, the Authority is approaching our Administrators with a request to purchase a permanent deodorizing system around our grit facilities. If approved, further updates will be provided as to when it will be installed.

We are currently still accepting applications for the GWA CHP Ad-Hoc Committee. Below this update you can find links to information about the Committee, as well as an application to serve as a member of the Committee. All applications are due by November 1st. Applications can either be mailed/dropped off the Authority’s main office or emailed to the Assistant Director at mstreicher@gbww.org. Please feel free to contact the Authority’s main office with any questions.

Please continue to check this web page on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating operations through the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday mornings, with some being as early as Wednesday mornings, depending on the week. As we return to normal operation, the updates will be shorter, but more information can always be obtained from the Authority at any time by giving us a call or stopping by.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org.

EOC Memorandum “Creation of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee”


Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge (Posted October 25, 2017)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer Treatment Facility (CSTF)

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed a web page to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF IL Permit Number 0022471 recently discharged on October 24, 2017, from Outfall 001, due to a storm event which occurred on October 23-24, 2017 at approximately 11:30 PM.

The duration of the total rain storm was approximately 14.5 hours with a total rainfall of 1.00″. The LCSTF discharged 11.902 MG over a period of 18.5 hours due to the rain event.


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Updated November2, 2017)

October 19, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

Over the last weekend, the Authority’s service area received near record amounts of rainfall, that resulted in staff being back to all hands-on deck. Between Saturday October 14th and Sunday October 15th, over 250 million gallons of water was treated between the Authority’s main plant on Bemis and the Wet Weather Lombard plant. Although storm water is not meant to get into sanitary sewers, it is unavoidable, so weather events such as this past weekend’s can push the plants to their maximum. If you are interested in tracking weather statistics at the Authority’s main plant, you can visit our newly installed weather station at: https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KILGLENE22#history

Despite the wet weather event, staff has continued installing diamond plating in order to cover sources of odor where it has determined it is feasibly possible to do so. Although the wet weather has remediated many of the hydrogen sulfide issues for the moment, this task will be ongoing throughout the coming months. Portable deodorizing fans continue to operate near our grit facilities, but the Authority is also nearing a purchase of a more permanent deodorizing system in that specific area of the plant. The hopes are to have it installed before freezing weather.

Finally, earlier this week you may have seen an email blast sent out indicating the information regarding the GWA CHP Ad-Hoc Committee has been posted to our website. If interested, below this update you will find links to information about the Committee, as well as an application to serve as a member of the Committee. All applications are due by November 1st. Applications can either be mailed/dropped off the Authority’s main office or emailed to the Assistant Director at mstreicher@gbww.org. Please feel free to contact the Authority’s main office with any questions.

Please continue to check this web page on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating operations through the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday mornings, with some being as early as Wednesday mornings, depending on the week. As we return to normal operation, the updates will be shorter, but more information can always be obtained from the Authority at any time by giving us a call or stopping by.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org.

EOC Memorandum “Creation of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee”


Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge (Posted October 17, 2017)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer Treatment Facility (CSTF)

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed a web page to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF IL Permit Number 0022471 recently discharged on October 13, 14, and 15, 2017, from Outfall 001, due to a storm event which occurred on October 13-14, 2017 at approximately 2:45 AM.

The duration of the total rain storm was approximately 26.25 hours with a total rainfall of 5.41″. The LCSTF discharged 66.425 MG over a period of 49.25 hours due to the rain event.


Notice of Special Meeting of the Executive Oversight Committee (Posted October 17, 2017)

Notice is hereby given that the Executive Oversight Committee of the Glenbard Wastewater Authority will hold a Special Meeting on Thursday, October 19, 2017, at 7:30 a.m. in the Community Room of the Village of Glen Ellyn Police Station, 65 S. Park Boulevard, Glen Ellyn, Illinois. The agenda for the Special Meeting will be as follows:

1. Call to order

2. Roll call

3. Facilities Improvement Project – Change Order #3 Approval

4. Adjournment

Anyone seeking information regarding this meeting and anyone with a disability requiring accommodation in order to observe and/or participate in this meeting is requested to contact Matthew Streicher, Assistant Director, at 630/790-1901 x126 (fax: 630/865-5893) or mstreicher@gbww.org.


Notice of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee Formation
(Updated November 2, 2017)

GWA Ad-Hoc CHP Committee

At the October 12, 2017 Executive Oversight Committee (EOC), Staff presented the summary of the proposed GWA Ad-Hoc CHP Committee. The EOC was in agreement with the terms of the Committee, and directed Staff to move forward with accepting applications. In the link below, please read the memo to the EOC summarizing the Committee, and if you are interested in participating; please complete the application in the link below.

Completed applications can be mailed to the Glenbard Wastewater Authority, 945 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, IL, 60137, or if you wish to submit it electronically, please email it to mstreicher@gbww.org. All applications are due by November 1, 2017.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

EOC Memorandum “Creation of Ad-Hoc CHP Operations Committee”

 


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Posted October 12, 2017)

October 12, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

As days pass, we continue to return to business as usual at GWA. We are successfully seeing healthy biological masses returning to normal operating parameters.

We were fortunate to get some rain over the past weekend and within the last day, which helped push some of the older biological masses through the plant. We have now put our second primary clarifier back into service, which is typical operation for us. We have also put the third out of the four final clarifiers back in service; which again, is back to typical operation for us. Although the overall rainfall for the recent period is lower than normal, the recent rainfall has been helpful to the plant.

The Gravity Thickener has also been put back into service fully. After further analysis, we discovered that many of the issues the thickener was experiencing was due to the low flows we had been experiencing. Therefore, the sludge age was getting past its normal life expectancy and not settling well. With the rains we saw last weekend, and within the last twenty-four plus hours, we will continue to see the thickener improve.

Late last week, GWA received additional diamond plate sheeting. This sheeting will be used to cover sources of odor where staff determines it is feasibly possible to do so. Staff has begun prepping and installing the material; however, this task will be ongoing throughout the coming months.

GWA staff will continue to investigate options and the feasibility of covering larger equipment, additional deodorizing systems, in-stream treatment at lift stations, and allocated funding for an odor control study.

Please continue to check this web page on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating operations through the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday mornings, with some being as early as Wednesday mornings, depending on the week. As we return to normal operation, the updates will be briefer, but more information can always be obtained from the Authority at any time by giving us a call or stopping by.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Posted October 5, 2017)

October 5, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

At this time, we’re happy to report that all three of our digesters are reporting normal health values. This is great news, as this has eliminated some of the more offensive odors that were generated by the plant during the months of August and early September.

As reported in last week’s update, GWA staff was in the process of putting our Gravity Thickener back into service after taking it out of service for cleaning. Although once back in service the odors were significantly reduced, the operations staff still noticed uncharacteristic signs of sludge within the thickener, and therefore the process was once again taken out of service this week. Authority staff has taken more in-depth lab samples to determine the cause of the uncharacteristic sludge, and further investigation continues. However, this issue is not related to the recent digester upset.

Also, as indicated in last week’s update, over the course of the past week, GWA staff took one of the primary clarifiers out of service to continue to remove as much of the “bad” sludge as possible from the plant recirculation process. The primary tank that was taken out of service has been cleaned, and will remain out of service until our flows require it to be used. The draining of one primary clarifier and putting the other one back in service could have contributed to some intensified hydrogen sulfide odors at moments, but only in the effort to reduce the other more lingering odors.

Another initiative that has occurred recently is to cover all tanks and processes that have sources of odor and are feasible to do so. There are some tanks or areas of the plants that aren’t feasible to do so. However, we’ve begun focusing on installing covers on any location that is readily able to be covered. This initiative will be an ongoing effort throughout the months to come.

Earlier this week, an email blast was sent out notifying subscribers and neighbors that the official Air Quality Analysis report performed by Trotter & Associates, Inc.(TAI) was posted on our website, along with an executive summary.

Finally, as evident by most lawns in the region, we are in near severe drought conditions. These drought conditions lead to more development of hydrogen sulfide gases, which the human nose is extremely sensitive to. We believe once we see a week with some consistent rainfall – the odors should subside even more. GWA strives to provide the best quality of life for our neighbors, as we continue to serve a population of nearly 100,000 people. Providing wastewater treatment services will create odors from time to time; but we are committed to remediating those odors when we realize them and are able to do so.

Please continue to check this webpage on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating actions taken throughout the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday morning, with some being as soon as Wednesday morning, depending on the week.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org


Notice of Air Quality Analysis Results (Updated October 5, 2017)

Please follow the links below to access the Air Quality Testing Memorandum and Sampling Analysis

Air Quality Testing Memorandum

Air Quality Sampling Analysis

Air Quality Report Q&A


Contact Information

Glenbard Wastewater Authority
945 Bemis Rd
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137
Map It                Weather

Phone: (630) 790.1901
Fax: (630) 858.8119

Office Hours

Monday – Friday
7:30a.m. – 4:00p.m

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for our mailing list to get our latest news & events!