Glenbard Wastewater Authority Background

Public Notices and Review Documents

Public Notices and Review Documents

(Public Notices and Review documents will be posted here when available and necessary)


Notice of Weekly Update Regarding Odor Reduction Efforts (Posted September 20, 2017)

September 19, 2017 Weekly Update

Dear Neighbors:

This week the Glenbard Wastewater Authority began a high effort task of “re-seeding” our upset digesters with healthy sludge from a neighboring wastewater treatment plant. In order to complete this task, GWA first needed to make room in the digesters by removing the upset sludge. This sludge is being hauled away as soon as we are able too, which the anticipated delivery dates being today, September 19th and Friday September 22nd. While the trailers are full of sludge onsite, GWA staff is also covering the them to help reduce escaping odors. We are working with the haulers and limitations with our federal permits, to attempt to haul it out on a more frequent basis while we are removing the upset sludge. We anticipate “re-seeding” the digesters through Wednesday, September 20th, when we anticipate a significant amount of the upset sludge will be displaced. After the re-seeding is complete, GWA also plans on taking its Gravity Thickener out of service and cleaning the tank as we suspect the Gravity Thickener could be another large source of odors. Although it is not standard procedure to operate with the Gravity Thickener out of service, we are attempting to remove all sources of odor, and restart the thickening process. Again, for this task, we anticipate working with our hauler to remove the contents of the Gravity Thickener off-site as soon as possible.

Unfortunately, these two tasks could potentially generate more odors temporarily. However, they will assist us to getting back to normal operation sooner than if we did not proceed with them.

We still cannot give an exact timeline as to when our situation will be completely remedied, as this is a biological process that works on its own, however we can assure you we are doing everything in our ability to expedite this process as much as possible.

Please continue to check this webpage on a weekly basis, as it is our intent to post a weekly update stating what actions we’ve taken throughout the course of the week. Most updates will be posted no later than Friday morning, with some being as soon as Wednesday morning, depending on the week.

As always, please feel free to call us for any reason at 630-790-1901 or email the Assistant Director/Engineer at mstreicher@gbww.org

Thank you for your continued patience.


Executive Oversight Committee Meeting Location Change (Posted September 18, 2017)

Please be aware that the Executive Oversight Committee Meeting location for September has been changed to the Village of Glen Ellyn Police Department’s Community Meeting Room, located at 65 S. Park Boulevard, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137. The change in meeting location is to provide better parking and meeting space for members of the public.


Community Meeting Presentation Regarding Glenbard Wastewater Authority (GWA) Odors (Posted September 15, 2017)

Please follow the link below to access the Community Meeting Presentation Slides

Public Meeting Presentation

 


Notice of Sludge Hauling (Posted September 11, 2017)

Sludge hauling is scheduled to take place, if field conditions permit, on Wednesday, September 13th and Thursday, September 14th between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. both days.


Executive Oversight Committee Meeting Date Change (Posted September 11, 2017)

Please be aware that the Executive Oversight Committee Meeting for September has been changed to September 21, 2017 at 8:00 AM.


Updated Notice of Biological Process Issues (Posted Aug. 29, 2017)

August 25, 2017

Dear Neighbors:

The Authority is experiencing a significant odor within the general vicinity of the facility located at 945 Bemis Rd. We are aware of what the odor is attributed to and are doing everything in our power to reduce the impact on our neighbors. We have been experiencing multiple process upsets, along with dry weather flow conditions since the first week of August. The Authority is purchasing tens of thousands of dollars in chemicals to help correct the process issues, which will in turn reduce the odors back to their normal state. The residents that have called we have tried to get back with in a timely manner to empathize and listen to your complaints and explain to you as best we can what is happening with our process and the corrective measures we are taking. We have also explained that this will take many weeks to improve, of which we are more than two weeks into our recovery and anticipate that it will take a few more weeks to achieve normalcy. The odors will come and go, some days will be better than others but please realize we are working toward resolution to this anomaly.

Some of you have spoken with me or Dave many times over the past 18 years, while many of you are fairly new to the area or are new to the odor. I can reassure you that we have in the past and will in the future work to remediate the smell that is currently affecting your everyday life. We are working at streamlining how we communicate to you and would appreciate logging into the webpage www.gbww.org and signing up for our email list so we can distribute this type of news electronically rather than incurring additional costs for printing and mailing letters to neighbors. The email list signup is located at the bottom right of the home page (Join Our Mailing List).

The Authority recognizes that this is a major inconvenience and is making adjustments to reduce the negative impacts to our neighbors.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact me or Dave Goodalis, Operations Superintendent at 630-790-1901.

Sincerely,

Erik Lanphier
Executive Director
Glenbard Wastewater Authority


Notice of Employment Opportunity (Posted August 17, 2017)

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority is recruiting for an entry-level (full-time) Maintenance Mechanic III position. The purpose of this position is to perform a limited variety of skilled and semi-skilled tasks in the preventative maintenance, repair, and replacement related activities at its advanced treatment facilities, including work on plant machinery, conveyor systems, piping systems, buildings, vehicles, and grounds; and to provide responsive, courteous, and efficient service to the residents of the Villages of Lombard and Glen Ellyn and the general public.

Please follow the link below regarding Job Posting for the Maintenance Mechanic III Position.

Maintenance Mechanic III


Notice of Biological Process Issues (Posted Aug. 8, 2017)

Please be aware the treatment facility is experiencing some biological process issues that will create odors. We apologize for the impact this will have on our neighbors surrounding the facility.

Staff is working diligently to rectify the situation as quickly as possible.

Once again we apologize for this inconvenience.


Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge (Posted July 26, 2017)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer Treatment Facility (CSTF)

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed a web page to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF IL Permit Number 0022471 recently discharged on July 19 & 20, 2017, from Outfall 001, due to a storm event which occurred on July 19, 2017 at approximately 5:30 AM.

The duration of the total rain storm was approximately 2.5 hours with a total rainfall of 1.01″. The LCSTF discharged 3.463 MG over a period of 20.75 hours due to the rain event.


Notice of Sludge Hauling (Posted July 25, 2017)

Sludge hauling is scheduled to take place, if field conditions permit, on Wednesday, July 26th and Thursday, July 27st between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. both days.


Change of Address (Posted July 25, 2017)

Public Notification of Address Change for the Bemis Road Facility

Please be advised that effective August 1, 2017, the address for mail and deliveries for the Glenbard Wastewater Authority Bemis Road Facility will change.

All deliveries, invoices and correspondence should be directed to:

Glenbard Wastewater Authority
945 Bemis Road
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Please note that all other contact information, i.e. telephone, fax and emails will remain the same.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at 630/790-1901.
Your patience as we make this transition is greatly appreciated!


Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge (Posted July 18, 2017)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer Treatment Facility (CSTF)

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed a web page to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF IL Permit Number 0022471 recently discharged on July 12, 2017, from Outfall 001, due to a storm event which occurred on July 11, 2017 at approximately 11:15 PM.

The duration of the total rain storm was approximately 4.0 hours with a total rainfall of 1.34″. The LCSTF discharged 2.87 MG over a period of 12.0 hours due to the rain event.


Notice of Landscape Services Bid Tabulation (Posted June 27, 2017)

Please follow the link below for Bid Tabulation of Landscape Services

Landscape Services Bid Tabulation


Notice of House Demolition Services Bid Tabulation (Posted June  22, 2017)

Please follow the link below for Bid Tabulation of House Demolition Services

House Demolition Services Bid Tabulation


Notice of Sludge Hauling (Posted June 21, 2017)

Sludge hauling is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, June 20th and Wednesday, June 21st between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. both days.


Notice of Invitation to Bid for Landscape Services Addendum (Posted June 15, 2017)

Please follow the link below for Addendum #1 w/regards to Invitation to Bid for Landscape Services

Addendum-No-1

 


Notice of Invitation to Bid (Posted May 30, 2017)

NOTICE TO BIDDERS FOR Landscape Maintenance Services

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority is now accepting sealed bid proposals for Landscape Maintenance Services. It is the intent of The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (“Authority”) to enter into a 3-year Agreement with a Contractor for the maintenance of Lawns, Shrubs, and Ornamental Trees at Glenbard Wastewater Authority Facilities.

Owner’s facilities shall be provided landscape maintenance services as described in the bid specifications and specific instructions contained in the bid package.

Basis of Award – Proposals will be canvassed on the basis of “Total Cost”.  Award will be based on the lowest, responsive, responsible proposal.  This award will be made upon the recommendation of the Glenbard Wastewater Authority Executive Director to the Glenbard Wastewater Authority Executive Oversight Committee for anticipated award in July 2017.  The award recipient will be expected to commence service to the Authority on March 15, 2018.

Bid proposals must be received prior to 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday June 27, 2017 at the Glenbard Wastewater Authority, 21W551 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, Illinois, 60137, marked “Attention: Matt Streicher; Landscape Services” and at that time publicly opened and read aloud.  Each proposal should be placed in a sealed envelope and labeled with the bidder’s name and information.  Only sealed bids will be accepted.

Bid specifications and specific instructions contained in the bid package may be obtained from the Assistant Director/Engineer via email (mstreicher@gbww.org) or at the Authority’s website at http://www.gbww.org/about-us/public-notices-and-review-documents/All questions concerning the bid document or specifications must be submitted via email.  A written response will then be provided to all known bidders and made available to the public.  No interpretations, clarifications or addenda will be issued after the fourth day prior to the scheduled bid opening.

All contractors and subcontractors bidding for work involving fixed works constructed for public use, for public work, or otherwise undertaking public works, must pay prevailing wages as required by the Illinois Prevailing Wage Act (820 ILCS 130).

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority reserves the right to reject any or all bids and to waive technicalities or to accept the proposal deemed most advantageous to the Authority.


Notice of Demolition Services Bid Addendum #1 (Posted May 30, 2017)

Please follow the link below for Addendum #1 w/regards to Invitation to Bid for Demolition Services

Addendum-No-1


Notice of Overnight Work (Posted May 16, 2017)

NOTICE of OVER NIGHT WORK TO OCCUR AT GLENBARD WASTEWATER AUTHORITY
STARTING: WEDNESDAY 5/17 11PM, FINISHING: THURSDAY 5/18 7AM
The Authority and its contractor, Boller Construction, will be performing work in relation to its Facilities Improvement Project over night from Wednesday May 17 into the morning hours of Thursday May 18.

The majority of the work will be indoors, however some equipment will be started and running outside. There will be no increased traffic along Bemis Road. The reason for the work occurring overnight is since incoming wastewater flows are lowest during these hours due to the lack of water use, and therefore will give us the ability to perform certain types of work we would not otherwise be able to complete.

If you have any questions prior to the work, please call the Authority’s main number at 630-790-1901. If you have any problems or questions during the hours of the shutdown please call 630-865-5893.

As always, please visit our website at www.gbww.org for more information.
Thank you for your understanding.


Notice of Invitation to Bid (Posted May 10, 2017)

NOTICE TO BIDDERS FOR Demolition Services
The Glenbard Wastewater Authority is now accepting sealed bid proposals for Demolition Services. It is the intent of The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (“Authority”) to enter into an Agreement with a Contractor for the full site demolition, disposal, and restoration of the Authority-owned single-family residential dwelling and lot located in unincorporated DuPage County at 21W518 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137. The scope shall include, but is not limited to, the complete demolition of the house, all
related internal components to the house, and demolition of free-standing garage; final site restoration will include fill, compaction, grading, and seeding.

Bid proposals must be received prior to 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday May 31, 2017 at the Glenbard Wastewater Authority, 21W551 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, Illinois, 60137, marked “Attention: Matt Streicher” and at that time publicly opened and read aloud. Each proposal should be placed in a sealed envelope and labeled with the bidder’s name and information. Only sealed bids will be accepted.

Bid specifications and specific instructions contained in this bid package may be obtained from the Assistant Director/Engineer via email (mstreicher@gbww.org). All questions concerning the bid document or specifications must be submitted via email. A written response will then be provided to all known bidders and made available to the public. No interpretations, clarifications or addenda will be issued after the fourth day prior to the scheduled bid opening.

All contractors and subcontractors bidding for work involving fixed works constructed for public use, for public work, or otherwise undertaking public works, must pay prevailing wages as required by the Illinois Prevailing Wage Act (820 ILCS 130).

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority reserves the right to reject any or all bids and to waive technicalities or to accept the proposal deemed most advantageous to the Authority.


Notice of Public Hearing (Posted May 10, 2017)

Glenbard Wastewater Authority to Hold Public Information Hearing
Lombard, Illinois – Glenbard Wastewater Authority (GWA) will hold a public information hearing regarding its Combined Sewer Overflow (CSO) Stormwater Facility. The meeting will present GWA’s CSO Pollution Prevention Plan (PPP) and will be held on Wednesday June 7, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. at the Lombard Village Hall Community Room.

The GWA CSO Stormwater Facility operates under National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) Permit No. IL0022471, which was renewed effective on September 23, 2015. GWA Staff along with Village of Lombard Public Work’s Staff will be presenting information to the public on the system’s operational procedures and requirements.

For more information on the meeting, please contact the Glenbard Wastewater Authority at 630‐790‐1901. Contact: Matt Streicher


Contact Information

Glenbard Wastewater Authority
945 Bemis Rd
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137
Map It

Phone: (630) 790.1901
Fax: (630) 858.8119

Office Hours

Monday – Friday
7:30a.m. – 4:00p.m

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for our mailing list to get our latest news & events!