Glenbard Wastewater Authority Background

Public Notices and Review Documents

Public Notices and Review Documents

(Public Notices and Review documents will be posted here when available and necessary)


Odor Update
(Posted October 15, 2018)

If you have been near the Glenbard Wastewater Authority plant grounds last week, you may have noticed an odor that is a bit out of the ordinary for a wastewater treatment plant. This odor is due to the re-roofing of two buildings within plant grounds. In the roofing process, heated asphalt is used as a binder for insulation on the roof. This asphalt heating and applying process gives off an odor similar to that of a road being paved. The work is only being performed during working hours, so any associated odors with the roofing project should subside for the most part by the end of the work day. The roofing project is expected to be finished by the end of October (weather permitting) at which time all asphalt odors will cease for the year. Some of our older infrastructure has reached the end of its useful life and replacement/repairs are needed. We thank you for your patience.

On the topic of odors, we have had significant rains since the end of September (accumulating 5.86 inches), increasing the dilution of incoming flow into the plant. We have noticed during our routine community odor checks that the low-flow odors have been significantly reduced, or are now not detectable during our checks. We are glad that the rains have come about to provide relief from odors to our neighbors and will continue to mitigate odors to the best of our ability should the flows decrease again in the coming weeks.

Again, we thank you for your patience and cooperation throughout the year. We will continue to explore options to reduce the impact of incoming odors on the surrounding community and will provide updates as new developments occur.

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to reach out via e-mail, phone, or visit.

Sincerely,

GWA


Notice of Combined Sewer Overflow Permitted Discharge
(Posted September 11, 2018)

Public Notification Program for the Combined Sewer

The Glenbard Wastewater Authority (Authority) formed through an Intergovernmental Agreement between the Villages of Glen Ellyn and Lombard creating Regional Wastewater Treatment Facilities. Included in those facilities is the CSTF which operates under the Authority’s Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) National Pollution Discharge Elimination Systems (NPDES) Permit numbers IL0022471-001, 002 and 003. The Village of Lombard owns and maintains a collection system that incorporates approximately seven square miles of residential and commercial development tributary to the CSTF. The Authority, has developed this web page entry to notify the public of any discharges that occur from any of the three (3) permitted outfalls associated with the CSTF. These outfalls all discharge partially treated effluent into the East Branch of the DuPage River.

The CSTF, IL Permit Number 0022471, discharged at ~ 10:45 AM, on Sept. 6, 2018, for a period of ~ 13.75 hours, with a total discharge of 2.025 million gallons, due to a storm event which began at ~ 3:45 PM, on Sept. 5, 2018, and ended ~ 5.5 hours later, with total rainfall of 1.13″

Days are classified as 12:00p.m to 12:00p.m for permit reporting of the CSTF. If at any time you have questions regarding the discharge of the CSTF to the East Branch of the DuPage River or how the Authority treats the water, please do not hesitate to contact Authority staff at (630) 790-1901. Click here to view the Authority’s storm water plant.


Notice of Annual IEPA Inspection Report
(Posted August 21, 2018)

On June 7, 2018 the Glenbard Wastewater Authority had its annual Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) inspection, where a representative from IEPA spends a day at the plant inspecting operations to ensure we’re operating within proper parameters, and meeting all of the requirements imposed upon the Authority. As is typical, the Authority passed with no issues, and the IEPA returned the report that can be seen in the link below. If you have any questions regarding the report, please contact Matt Streicher at the Authority.
IEPA Inspection Report


Notice of Monthly Executive Oversight Committee Meeting Cancellation
(Posted July 19, 2018)

Due to lack of items for discussion/approval, the decision has been made to cancel the August 9, 2018 EOC Committee meeting.

The next regularly scheduled meeting will take place on for Thursday, September 13, 2018 at 8:00 a.m, at the main office of the Glenbard Wastewater Authority, 945 Bemis Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137.


Notice of Plant Construction Activities
(Posted July 12, 2018)

Dear Neighbors,

As we’re sure many of you have noticed, there has been some increased noise over the past week, which is related to our ongoing $17.5M Facilities Improvement Construction. For the past several weeks a subcontractor has been “driving” in sheet piles to form a water cutoff system for a deep excavation, so when they hit obstructions during the “driving,” they are forced to hammer the sheets. This is the cause of the loud banging you’ve been experiencing from time to time. Unfortunately, there are no other ways around the obstructions, although that subcontractor is limited to only working during hours allowed per the Village of Glen Ellyn ordinances, so there should be no disturbances during non-working hours in relation to that specific work. The driving operation is expected to be completed no later than next Wednesday, July 18.

Also, the general contractor will need to be perform some night work over night Thursday, July 12, to Friday, July 13. Due to the nature of the work that needs to be performed, the Authority will need to shut down the entire plant, which is only possible to do overnight when flows are at their lowest. However, the work that the general contractor will be performing will have minimal noise and should not create any disturbances. If you do experience any issues, please call the cell phone for our Operations Superintendent, Dave Goodalis, at 630-918-4419.

We appreciate your continued patience, and please feel free to contact us for any reason.


Contact Information

Glenbard Wastewater Authority
945 Bemis Rd
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137
Map It                Weather

Phone: (630) 790.1901
Fax: (630) 858.8119

Office Hours

Monday – Friday
7:30a.m. – 4:00p.m

Join Our Mailing List

Sign up for our mailing list to get our latest news & events!